Consultants in the Department of Anaesthesia, Intensive Care & Perioperative Medicine at Cairns Hospital

Areas Of Special Interest
Acting Director
Dr James Sartain
Acute Pain, Perioperative Medicine, Obstetric Anaesthesia
Deputy Director
Dr David Mecklem
Interventional Pain Management, General & Tropical Intensive Care, Training & Education
Director of Intensive Care
Dr Drew Wenck
General & Tropical Intensive Care
ANZCA Supervisor of Training
Dr Andy Potter
Training & Education, Regional Anaesthesia, Ultrasound in Anaesthesia, Information Technology
Education Officer ANZCA
Dr Emile Kurukchi
Training & Education, Regional Anaesthesia, Ultrasound in Anaesthesia, Retrieval Medicine

Dr John Barry
Rostering Applications & Development, History of Anaesthesia, Obstetric Anaesthesia

Dr Angus Carter
Advanced Life Support, Ultrasound in Critical Care, Safety & Quality in ICU

Dr Sandy Donald
Trauma, Military Critical Care

Dr Rob Grace
Developing World Anaesthesia, Paediatric Anaesthesia, Ethics

Dr Nicole Healy
Paediatric and Obstetric Anaesthesia

Dr Cath Hellier
Wildlife Anaesthesia

Dr Heather McDonald
Environmental Issues in Anaesthesia

Dr Sean McManus
Simulation and Crisis Management, Developing World Anaesthesia

Dr Sean Newell
General & Tropical Intensive Care, Trauma

Dr Vesselin Petkov
Ultrasound in Anaesthesia, Clinical Pharmacology

Dr Peter Schuller
Depth of Anaesthesia Monitoring, Training & Education

Dr Steve Smith
Paediatric and Obstetric Anaesthesia

Dr Penny Strickland
Simulation & Crisis Management, Paediatric Anaesthesia

Dr Paul Talbutt
Chronic Pain, Intensive Care, Simulation & Crisis Management

Dr Jonell Victor
Obstetric & Paediatric Anaesthesia

Dr Eldon Ward
Advanced Airway Management, Anaesthetic Equipment